Happy Birthday To Our Nation! How Did You Celebrate it?!

Hey everyone! It’s the first week of July and I’m going to kick things off with a blog post about Canada Day! (or should I say Canada Weekend!) Happy 147th Birthday to our nation. 🙂

From what I can remember, I and my family have always celebrated Canada Day. We indulge ourselves in fireworks, food, music, and being surrounded by friends and family.

This year I did just that, minus the fireworks, and minus celebrating on the actual day.

Media & Comm Team does the Sandbanks!

Media & Comm Team does the Sandbanks!

On Saturday, we packed up for a trip to the Sandbanks Provincial Park for the birthday of my friend Siraat. It was a beautiful sight to see, accompanied with beautiful weather. We played ladder ball, celebrated good times with good people, and had food supplied for the entire time we were there. I don’t remember the last time I just hung out in a open field and just had a blast with my close friends, playing catch or wrestling in the open water. (While accidentally almost drowning others in the process.” oops” :s) It reminded me a lot of my past experiences in Grand Bend. All good memories.

Photo Cred: Azeem Mustafa & Juan Fontana, Green Buffalo.

Photo Cred: Azeem Mustafa & Juan Fontana, Green Buffalo.

Photo Cred: Green Buffalo

Photo Cred: Green Buffalo

A quick clip of us arriving at the Sandbanks and playing Ladder Ball.

On Sunday, my best friend Steven and I traveled down to downtown Toronto to grab dinner with a few friends. The location of the place we planned to meet up just happened to be located on the same street that the Pride Parade was being held on. So it was nice to finally see and experience what the Annual Toronto Pride Parade was all about. It was great to see all the culture, diversity, and to be able to see everyone united.

United We Are Different.

United We Are Different.

Photo Cred: Vanessa Pichelli

Photo Cred: Vanessa Pichelli

Photo Cred: Vanessa Pichelli

Photo Cred: Vanessa Pichelli

On Tuesday, which was the actual day of Canada Day, I chose to stay in and spend time with the one person who means to most to me 🙂 We’ve been traveling and working so much, combined with my school and work projects, I felt a relaxation day was needed.

Relaxation with Nikki & the boys. (Ronin and Koda)

Relaxing with Nikki & the boys. (Ronin and Koda)

I do regret not seeing any fireworks this year, which is something I’m definitley going to make happen when celebrating Canada Day 2015.

Although…. today is July 4th, so I may have my excuse to set some fireworks off tonight! I love this country and I’m proud to be Canadian.🍁

Hopefully everyone else had a great weekend, and good Canada Day! Let’s continue to have a great summer shall we 🙂 Comment below and let me know what you did for Canada Day/Weekend!

For great tips to get outdoors check out my article: ANOTHER EPISODE VS. GOING OUTSIDE? THE GREAT DILEMMA.
One thought on “Happy Birthday To Our Nation! How Did You Celebrate it?!

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday To Our Nation! How Did You Celebrate it?! | Media & Communications

Leave a Reply

