Path? What Path? Ohh.. my favourite social media platform called Path!

Hey everyone! As you know this week’s blog theme for the Media & Communications team has been about expressing our love for our favorite Social Media Platform. 🙂  I myself have a hard time picking just one out of the many apps that I use daily. I mean how can you?! How can you choose just one when all of them are so great? They all have their own unique reasons for existing with their own pros and cons?

Facebook allows me to stay in touch with all my friends and community in an instant. It gives me the ability to organize my friends and groups all into one area. (PERFECT for my fantasy hockey and FIFA pools.)

Facebook groups

I love being able to organize and sort all my groups like my Fantasy hockey and FIFA pools.

 Instagram allows me to see all my friend’s beautiful faces and all the beautiful places they’ve visited, as well as share my own special moments.

Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 12.34.24 PM

Sharing my photography skills with the world.

Tumblr allows me to see funny gifs and inspirational quotes all in a few scrolls of the mouse. (many other uses as well such as promoting artwork!)

e4f3535d4929c072b93631e6222ae84b

Great quick motivational boosts for the day.

Now Twitter.. I find to be the update machine. I love using the tweet deck and just looking through all my favourite newsfeeds. It’s my daily digital newspaper for digesting.

I love seeing all my content, all in one area.

I love seeing all my content, all in one area.

Each social media platform has their own benefits and reasons I check them everyday.
Now to announce my favourite social media platform!…. Drum roll please..

IMG_1018

Screen Shot 2014-06-27 at 10.39.21 AM

Path is a social networking-enabled photo sharing and messaging service for mobile devices.

My favourite social media platform is an application called “Path” which allows you to share more than just text. The user can post and share what music they’re listening to, their workouts, photos, what’s on their mind, check-in to where they’re visiting, and to update the world with what movie their watching at a click of a button.


PATH CLIPS

“All-in-One Sharing”

I love this app because it allows me to not only share all my special moments, but helps me have an “All-in-One Sharing” experience. I can share my “Path Moments” on Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Foursquare, and Wordress. That’s right! I don’t need to open facebook or foursquare to check in to where I am. I can do it all within Path. I just check-in to my location, share a photo of the scenery, and boom. Click. Click.  I can share my status to all my other favourite social media platforms all at the same time 🙂 Time. Saved.

Path is meant to be a companion to Facebook and other social media networks as opposed to be just a destination website on it’s own.

“Path Moments”

Another beauty and sweet feature/aspect of Path, is that it logs the moments of your life so you can return to them later with ease. Just search your moments by searching friends, birthdays, places, cities, holidays, seasons, and /r months. (For example: “Trip to California”, or “My first date with Nikki”, and there.. you are enjoying your memories of the past.) I love being able to revisit a lifetime of moments.

memories

I love being able to search the aspects of my life, or special moments directly, without having to scroll endlessly through a timeline.

“Path Emotions”

Just like all the other social media platforms, you can go through your newsfeed and like/favourite a status and/or comment on them. Although with Path its better than just likes! You can use “Path Emotions” to do more than just like a friend’s post. You can use smiles, frowns, laughs, and/or hearts to show your love. It’s all about how YOU feel 🙂

IMG_3350

I believe this app hasn’t hit mainstream and isn’t on everyone’s radar, just yet (at least not around my area), but I feel it has the potential to be something great and be used by most of my friends and family.

(Side story) I mean I was introduced to Instagram during my trip in California, and only after a year of using the app did people start using it around my area.

 “Oh, have you used this new app called Instagram?!”
“-_-, yes.. yes I have.”

Like I said, I love all the social media platforms, and for their own reasons. I just like this particular app because, it’s different, it links to other social media apps, and it’s something that’s new and unique and I like being different/ having that one thing others don’t have.

It’s Simple, Authentic, And Make Me Happy.

It allows me to be me and be truly authentic to myself and be able to share my personal life to those who matter to me most. To focus on closer relationships with my family and friends, rather than sharing bits and pieces of information to the broader community. Having my relationships all in a digital system is something great to have.

This is my life and my happiness, and I love using something so simple and easy to use allowing me to build on the people around me.

So if you wanna be cool like me, check out Path! 😉 kidding.

So to end this post, I’ll leave you with a video promoting the app – and how it can be beneficial to one’s life. This video get’s me every time 🙂 Enjoy!

outdoor path

Leave a Reply

